LC was formerly Swansea Leisure Centre. Originally opened by the Queen during her Silver Jubilee year in 1977, Swansea’s Leisure Centre became one of Wales’ top leisure facilities and a prominent tourist attraction. However the building was closed in 2003 amid much controversy and faced the prospect of being demolished.
Thankfully Swansea County Council, after much deliberating, began plans for a full refurbishment. Whilst the external structure of the building remained the same, the project became a complete remodeling internally turning the former site into the vibrant and modern 21st century complex we see today.
The refurbishment began in 2005 with Powell Dobson - one of Wales' leading firms of architects - and nationally renowned contractors Laing O'Rourke leading the project.
The leading frameless structural glazing system, Pilkington Planar™
, has been used to replace the previous steel framed windows within the building’s concrete structure. The stunning redesign breathes new life into the re-named “LC”. It uses 1880 m² of vertical glazing around the reception area, water park, sports hall and gym, while 65 m² of roof light glazing was fitted above the stairs.